MobiMatter vs Airalonetworks, prices and policies
Reviewed by Itamar Bareket (CTO, MobiMatter) · Last reviewed
Short answer
Airalo sells its own plan line in each country, on the networks it has chosen there. MobiMatter is a travel eSIM provider where you choose between plans on several vetted carriers in many countries, and buy and manage every eSIM in one MobiMatter account and app. MobiMatter also sells some Airalo plans, so it is not a choice of one or the other. Pick Airalo if you want one familiar brand and its loyalty tiers; pick MobiMatter if you want to choose your network where several are offered, from plans ranked on quality and value, manage them all in one app and earn rewards on every purchase. The tables below show networks and prices for four example destinations.
Live right now, MobiMatter plans run on au (KDDI), NTT docomo, Rakuten, and SoftBank in Japan; AT&T, T-Mobile, U.S. Cellular, and Verizon in the US; Türk Telekom, Turkcell, and Vodafone in Turkey; Bouygues Telecom, Free, Orange, and SFR in France. Multi-country plans sold for these four destinations cover up to 185 countries in one plan, and validity goes up to 365 days.
MobiMatter
Airalo
At a glance
Choice of network
Yes: 2+ network choices in the majority of destinations167 of 199 destinations, catalog checked October 12, 2026Networks chosen by AiraloMulti-country plans
Yes: Up to 185 countries in one plan10 regional plans and 1 Global plan (168 countries); fixed data and unlimitedLongest validity
Up to 365 daysUp to 365 days (Global Discover 20 GB)Price on the same trips
Better price on 20 of 20 example tripsBetter price on 0 of 20Hotspot
Yes: Included on every planYes: Allowed
MobiMatter is rated 4.3/5 on Trustpilot from 57,137 reviews, 4.8/5 on the App Store and 4.9/5 on Google Play.
Key differences
| MobiMatter | Airalo |
|---|---|
| Model | |
| Yes: Travel eSIM provider with a choice of vetted carriers in many countries; every eSIM is bought and managed in one MobiMatter account and app | Single brand: one Airalo plan line per country on a fixed set of partner networks; no choice of carrier[1] |
| Multi-country plans | |
| Yes: 175 multi-country plans for these four destinations, up to 185 countries in one plan | 10 regional plans and 1 Global plan (168 countries); fixed data and unlimited[2] |
| Longest validity | |
| 15 plans valid 90 days or more for these four destinations, up to 365 days | Up to 365 days (Global Discover 20 GB)[2] |
| Unlimited data and fair use | |
| Yes: Offered in many destinations; the daily high-speed allowance and fair use depend on the plan and are stated on its page | Yes: Unlimited plans: 3 GB a day at high speed (5 GB in the US), then 1 Mbps until the daily reset[3] |
| Hotspot / tethering | |
| Yes: Included on every plan | Yes: Allowed[4] |
| Top-ups | |
| Yes: Yes, on plans that support it (shown on each plan), in the app or on the website[5] | Yes: Yes, same eSIM where a top-up package is offered[6] |
| App and account | |
| Yes: iOS and Android app plus website: all eSIMs in one account, one-tap install, data left, top-ups, home-screen data widget | Yes: iOS and Android apps: buy, top up, track usage, manage several eSIMs |
| Phone number, calls, SMS | |
| Limited: Mostly data-only; some plans include minutes or a number (for example UK plans with 300-500 minutes)[7] | Limited: Mostly data-only; some plans include a number, calls and SMS (US Change+)[8] |
| When validity starts | |
| Stated on each plan (activation policy), for example from first data use[9] | On first connection in the destination (most plans)[10] |
| ID check | |
| No ID check for most plans; some carriers require one (Mtel and mts plans, and 3 plans for Hong Kong and Taiwan), stated on the plan[11] | None for Japan, US, Turkey and France plans; ID upload required for some other countries[12] |
| Rewards | |
| Yes: MobiMatter Rewards: 10% cashback in credits or a 3% instant discount on each purchase, plus referral credit[13] | Yes: Airmoney cashback: 5% to 10% by loyalty tier[14] |
| Support | |
| 24/7 support, plus a self-serve troubleshooting tool and a help center, for every eSIM whichever carrier it runs on | 24/7 support[15] |
| Free trial | |
| No: No free trial plan | Not stated on official pages |
Network choice in four example destinations
If one network is weak where you're going, pick another.
MobiMatter: the networks MobiMatter plans run on in each of these destinations today, with the number of plans and the lowest price on each. Airalo: the network it names on its own country page. MobiMatter prices and networks: live catalog, checked October 12, 2026.
| MobiMatter | Airalo |
|---|---|
| Japan | |
4 networksSold by MobiMatter from 7 providers
| Airalo: its partner network(s)KDDI (5G), SoftBank[1]5G: Yes[1] |
| United States | |
4 networksSold by MobiMatter from 6 providers
| Airalo: its partner network(s)T-Mobile, Verizon, U.S. Cellular (data plans); T-Mobile (voice plans)[8] |
| Turkey | |
3 networksSold by MobiMatter from 6 providers
| Airalo: its partner network(s)Türk Telekom (5G)[16]5G: Yes[16] |
| France | |
4 networksSold by MobiMatter from 7 providers
| Airalo: its partner network(s)Orange (5G)[17] |
Prices for the same trips
Plans rarely match one to one, so we price trips: for each brand, the cheapest plan with at least the data and at least the days of the trip (a bigger plan counts). Prices are in US dollars: the list price on each brand's own site, without sale prices, promo codes or first-order discounts. Unlimited plans are a separate trip; check each brand's fair-use terms above. MobiMatter prices and networks: live catalog, checked October 12, 2026.
Japan
Better price on 5 of 5 example trips
Airalo: list prices on its own site, captured October 11, 2026. Sources [1].
| MobiMatter | Airalo |
|---|---|
| 1 week light: 3 GB, 7 days: MobiMatter $5.49, Airalo $8.00, MobiMatter $2.51 less | |
| $8.00 · $2.67/GBMoshi Moshi (3 GB, 7 days)captured October 11, 2026 | |
| 1 week: 6 GB, 7 days: MobiMatter $7.99, Airalo $17.00, MobiMatter $9.01 less | |
| $17.00 · $1.70/GBMoshi Moshi (10 GB, 7 days)captured October 11, 2026 | |
| 2 weeks: 10 GB, 14 days: MobiMatter $7.99, Airalo $17.50, MobiMatter $9.51 less | |
| $17.50 · $1.75/GBMoshi Moshi (10 GB, 15 days)captured October 11, 2026 | |
| 30 days: 20 GB: MobiMatter $13.99, Airalo $25.00, MobiMatter $11.01 less | |
| $25.00 · $1.25/GBMoshi Moshi (20 GB, 30 days)captured October 11, 2026 | |
| 1 week unlimited: MobiMatter $19.99, Airalo $26.50, MobiMatter $6.51 less | |
| $26.50Moshi Moshi (Unlimited, 7 days)captured October 11, 2026 | |
United States
Better price on 5 of 5 example trips
Airalo: list prices on its own site, captured October 11, 2026. Sources [8].
| MobiMatter | Airalo |
|---|---|
| 1 week light: 3 GB, 7 days: MobiMatter $3.99, Airalo $9.00, MobiMatter $5.01 less | |
| $9.00 · $3.00/GBChange (3 GB, 7 days)captured October 11, 2026 | |
| 1 week: 6 GB, 7 days: MobiMatter $8.49, Airalo $21.50, MobiMatter $13.01 less | |
| $21.50 · $2.15/GBChange (10 GB, 7 days)captured October 11, 2026 | |
| 2 weeks: 10 GB, 14 days: MobiMatter $9.99, Airalo $22.00, MobiMatter $12.01 less | |
| $22.00 · $2.20/GBChange (10 GB, 15 days)captured October 11, 2026 | |
| 30 days: 20 GB: MobiMatter $16.99, Airalo $36.50, MobiMatter $19.51 less | |
| $36.50 · $1.83/GBChange (20 GB, 30 days)captured October 11, 2026 | |
| 1 week unlimited: MobiMatter $14.21, Airalo $25.00, MobiMatter $10.79 less | |
| $25.00Change (Unlimited, 7 days)captured October 11, 2026 | |
Turkey
Better price on 5 of 5 example trips
Airalo: list prices on its own site, captured October 11, 2026. Sources [16].
| MobiMatter | Airalo |
|---|---|
| 1 week light: 3 GB, 7 days: MobiMatter $3.49, Airalo $6.50, MobiMatter $3.01 less | |
| $6.50 · $2.17/GBMerhaba (3 GB, 7 days)captured October 11, 2026 | |
| 1 week: 6 GB, 7 days: MobiMatter $7.99, Airalo $14.50, MobiMatter $6.51 less | |
| $14.50 · $1.45/GBMerhaba (10 GB, 7 days)captured October 11, 2026 | |
| 2 weeks: 10 GB, 14 days: MobiMatter $8.99, Airalo $15.00, MobiMatter $6.01 less | |
| $15.00 · $1.50/GBMerhaba (10 GB, 15 days)captured October 11, 2026 | |
| 30 days: 20 GB: MobiMatter $15.99, Airalo $22.50, MobiMatter $6.51 less | |
| $22.50 · $1.13/GBMerhaba (20 GB, 30 days)captured October 11, 2026 | |
| 1 week unlimited: MobiMatter $12.60, Airalo $24.50, MobiMatter $11.90 less | |
| $24.50Merhaba (Unlimited, 7 days)captured October 11, 2026 | |
France
Better price on 5 of 5 example trips
Airalo: list prices on its own site, captured October 11, 2026. Sources [17].
| MobiMatter | Airalo |
|---|---|
| 1 week light: 3 GB, 7 days: MobiMatter $4.49, Airalo $7.50, MobiMatter $3.01 less | |
| $7.50 · $2.50/GBÉlan (3 GB, 7 days)captured October 11, 2026 | |
| 1 week: 6 GB, 7 days: MobiMatter $7.99, Airalo $16.00, MobiMatter $8.01 less | |
| $16.00 · $1.60/GBÉlan (10 GB, 7 days)captured October 11, 2026 | |
| 2 weeks: 10 GB, 14 days: MobiMatter $8.49, Airalo $16.50, MobiMatter $8.01 less | |
| $16.50 · $1.65/GBÉlan (10 GB, 15 days)captured October 11, 2026 | |
| 30 days: 20 GB: MobiMatter $13.99, Airalo $23.00, MobiMatter $9.01 less | |
| $23.00 · $1.15/GBÉlan (20 GB, 30 days)captured October 11, 2026 | |
| 1 week unlimited: MobiMatter $14.99, Airalo $23.50, MobiMatter $8.51 less | |
| $23.50Élan (Unlimited, 7 days)captured October 11, 2026 | |
Airalo: Standing discounts (not applied above)
- Airmoney cashback: 5% (Traveler), 6% (Silver, USD 20 spent), 7% (Gold, USD 70), 10% (Platinum, USD 200)[14]
Which is the better choice?
When MobiMatter is the better choice
- You want to choose your network: MobiMatter has 2+ network choices in the majority of its destinations.
- You are visiting several countries: MobiMatter plans sold for these four destinations cover up to 185 countries in one plan.
- You want plans from several vetted providers in many countries, Airalo plans among them, and to pick by network, data and validity.
- You want plans ranked on quality and value, not on price alone, with the ranking shown on each destination page.
- You want every eSIM in one MobiMatter account and app, with 10% cashback in credits or a 3% discount on each purchase.
When Airalo is the better choice
- You want one familiar brand for every trip and already collect Airmoney, which pays 5% to 10% back by loyalty tier.
- You need a US plan with a phone number, minutes and SMS from the same brand (Airalo Change+).
How we compare
Trips, not plans: 1 week light (3 GB), 1 week normal (6 GB), 2 weeks (10 GB), 30 days (20 GB) and 1 week of unlimited data, in Japan, the United States, Turkey and France. For each brand we take the cheapest plan that covers the trip; if none does, the table says so. Above each destination's trips we also show MobiMatter's top-ranked plan there (quality and value, as on our destination pages), once. When no plan with a set amount of data covers a trip, we use the brand's cheapest unlimited plan that lasts long enough, if its published full-speed allowance (per day times the trip's days, or its total cap) reaches the trip's data; it is tagged "unlimited plan" because it is not like-for-like. If the brand does not publish that allowance, the price is shown tagged "full-speed allowance not stated" and is not counted in the "better price" tally. The same rule applies to MobiMatter.
Airalo prices are the list prices on its own site on the date shown, in US dollars, without sale prices, promo codes, first-order discounts or memberships (standing discounts are listed separately), and are re-checked at least every three months. Regional plans count for a country only where the brand lists them for that country with the same data. MobiMatter prices and networks are read live from the plans on sale.
Facts about Airalo come from its own public pages (plan pages, help center, terms) and app store listings, each linked to its source with the date it was read; anything we could not confirm on an official page says so. We do not quote speed tests: speed depends on the network, the place and the time, so we name the networks instead.
Disclosure: MobiMatter publishes this page and sells travel eSIMs, so it has a commercial interest in the comparison. MobiMatter also sells plans from some other eSIM brands, including Airalo.
How we write, source and correct our content: editorial policy
Reviewed by Itamar Bareket (CTO, MobiMatter) · Last reviewed
Questions
Can I buy Airalo eSIMs on MobiMatter?
Yes, for many destinations. MobiMatter sells some Airalo plans next to plans from other vetted providers, so you can pick the Airalo plan or another carrier in the same country and manage them all in the MobiMatter app.
Source[18]
Is MobiMatter legit?
MobiMatter is operated since 2019 by MOBIMATTER LTD, a company registered in Abu Dhabi Global Market (UAE). You buy every eSIM from MobiMatter and get support from MobiMatter, whichever carrier it runs on. Its Trustpilot and app store ratings are shown at the top of this page.
Source[19]
Which networks does Airalo use in Japan?
Airalo's Japan plans (Moshi Moshi) run on SoftBank and KDDI. On MobiMatter you can choose Japan plans by network; the networks available today are listed in the table above.
Source[20]
Do Airalo unlimited plans slow down?
Yes. Airalo's unlimited plans give 3 GB a day at high speed (5 GB a day in the US), then 1 Mbps until the daily reset, according to its plan pages.
Source[3]
Sources
- [1]Airalo: Model; Network choice in four example destinations: Japan; Prices for the same trips: Japanairalo.com/japan-esim?currency=USD · captured October 11, 2026
- [2]Airalo: Multi-country plans; Longest validityairalo.com/discover-esim · captured October 9, 2026
- [3]Airalo: Unlimited data and fair use; Questions: Do Airalo unlimited plans slow down?airalo.com/unlimited-packages · captured October 9, 2026
- [4]Airalo: Hotspot / tetheringairalo.com/help/using-managing-esims/ZSEEHBT5HW6F/can-i-use-tethering-personal-hotspot/5XTAX1X7HR0B · captured October 9, 2026
- [5]MobiMatter: Top-upsmobimatter.com/topup-esim · captured October 9, 2026
- [6]Airalo: Top-upsairalo.com/help/using-managing-esims/ZSEEHBT5HW6F/can-i-use-my-existing-esim-again/ZX3MKHJZ6HIR · captured October 9, 2026
- [7]MobiMatter: Phone number, calls, SMSmobimatter.com/esim-united-kingdom · captured October 9, 2026
- [8]Airalo: Phone number, calls, SMS; Network choice in four example destinations: United States; Prices for the same trips: United Statesairalo.com/united-states-esim?currency=USD · captured October 11, 2026
- [9]MobiMatter: When validity startsmobimatter.com/travel-esim/iij-japan-50-gb-esim · captured October 9, 2026
- [10]Airalo: When validity startsairalo.com/help/using-managing-esims/ZSEEHBT5HW6F/how-do-data-amounts-and-validity-periods-work-for-esim-packages/8KC1GEAUTAL0 · captured October 9, 2026
- [11]MobiMatter: ID checkmobimatter.com/travel-esim/mtel-montenegro-500-gb-esim · captured October 9, 2026
- [12]Airalo: ID checkairalo.com/help/getting-started-with-airalo/E8DFWD88SHUX/why-do-i-need-to-verify-my-identity/MEMBY8RNOAT0 · captured October 9, 2026
- [13]MobiMatter: Rewardsmobimatter.com/rewards · captured October 9, 2026
- [14]Airalo: Rewards; Standing discounts (not applied above)airalo.com/loyalty-program · captured October 9, 2026
- [15]Airalo: Supportairalo.com/more-info/contact · captured October 9, 2026
- [16]Airalo: Network choice in four example destinations: Turkey; Prices for the same trips: Turkeyairalo.com/turkey-esim?currency=USD · captured October 11, 2026
- [17]Airalo: Network choice in four example destinations: France; Prices for the same trips: Franceairalo.com/france-esim?currency=USD · captured October 11, 2026
- [18]MobiMatter: Questions: Can I buy Airalo eSIMs on MobiMatter?mobimatter.com/travel-esim/airalo-offers · captured October 9, 2026
- [19]MobiMatter: Questions: Is MobiMatter legit?mobimatter.com/about-us · captured October 9, 2026
- [20]Airalo: Questions: Which networks does Airalo use in Japan?airalo.com/japan-esim · captured October 9, 2026