MobiMatter vs Holaflyunlimited data, networks and prices
Reviewed by Itamar Bareket (CTO, MobiMatter) · Last reviewed
Short answer
Holafly sells one unlimited-data eSIM per country, priced by the number of days, on the networks it has chosen there; hotspot sharing is limited to 1 GB a day. MobiMatter is a travel eSIM provider where you choose between plans on several vetted carriers in many countries, with fixed-data plans and, in many destinations, unlimited plans, and buy and manage every eSIM in one MobiMatter account and app. If you know roughly how much data you need, a fixed-data plan sized to it can cost less than unlimited days; the tables below price the same trips for both.
Live right now, MobiMatter plans run on au (KDDI), NTT docomo, Rakuten, and SoftBank in Japan; AT&T, T-Mobile, U.S. Cellular, and Verizon in the US; Türk Telekom, Turkcell, and Vodafone in Turkey; Bouygues Telecom, Free, Orange, and SFR in France. Multi-country plans sold for these four destinations cover up to 185 countries in one plan, and validity goes up to 365 days.
MobiMatter
Holafly
At a glance
Choice of network
Yes: 2+ network choices in the majority of destinations167 of 199 destinations, catalog checked October 12, 2026Networks chosen by HolaflyMulti-country plans
Yes: Up to 185 countries in one plan21 multi-country plans incl. Global (142 countries); unlimited data onlyLongest validity
Yes: Up to 365 daysUp to 90 days (plans priced by the day, 1 to 90)Price on the same trips
Better price on 4 of 4 example tripsBetter price on 0 of 4Hotspot
Yes: Included on every planLimited: Allowed, up to 1 GB per day
MobiMatter is rated 4.3/5 on Trustpilot from 57,137 reviews, 4.8/5 on the App Store and 4.9/5 on Google Play.
Key differences
| MobiMatter | Holafly |
|---|---|
| Model | |
| Yes: Travel eSIM provider with a choice of vetted carriers in many countries; every eSIM is bought and managed in one MobiMatter account and app | Single brand: one unlimited-data Holafly eSIM per country, priced by the number of days; no choice of carrier[1] |
| Multi-country plans | |
| Yes: 175 multi-country plans for these four destinations, up to 185 countries in one plan | 21 multi-country plans incl. Global (142 countries); unlimited data only[2] |
| Longest validity | |
| Yes: 15 plans valid 90 days or more for these four destinations, up to 365 days | Up to 90 days (plans priced by the day, 1 to 90)[2] |
| Unlimited data and fair use | |
| Yes: Offered in many destinations; the daily high-speed allowance and fair use depend on the plan and are stated on its page | Yes: Every plan is unlimited, no fixed daily cap stated; operators may slow speeds under fair use for up to one day[3] |
| Hotspot / tethering | |
| Yes: Included on every plan | Limited: Allowed, up to 1 GB per day[1] |
| Top-ups | |
| Yes: Yes, on plans that support it (shown on each plan), in the app or on the website[4] | Limited: Extend the plan in the app; no data top-ups (plans are unlimited)[5] |
| App and account | |
| Yes: iOS and Android app plus website: all eSIMs in one account, one-tap install, data left, top-ups, home-screen data widget | Yes: iOS and Android apps: buy, track usage live, manage several plans, extend a plan |
| Phone number, calls, SMS | |
| Limited: Mostly data-only; some plans include minutes or a number (for example UK plans with 300-500 minutes)[6] | No: Data only (no local number, calls or SMS)[3] |
| When validity starts | |
| Stated on each plan (activation policy), for example from first data use[7] | On first connection in the destination[8] |
| ID check | |
| No ID check for most plans; some carriers require one (Mtel and mts plans, and 3 plans for Hong Kong and Taiwan), stated on the plan[9] | None stated[10] |
| Rewards | |
| Yes: MobiMatter Rewards: 10% cashback in credits or a 3% instant discount on each purchase, plus referral credit[11] | Yes: HolaCoins cashback: 5% to 7% by tier[12] |
| Support | |
| 24/7 support, plus a self-serve troubleshooting tool and a help center, for every eSIM whichever carrier it runs on | 24/7 support[13] |
| Free trial | |
| No: No free trial plan | Yes: Free global eSIM: 200 MB for 1 day[14] |
Network choice in four example destinations
If one network is weak where you're going, pick another.
MobiMatter: the networks MobiMatter plans run on in each of these destinations today, with the number of plans and the lowest price on each. Holafly: the network it names on its own country page. MobiMatter prices and networks: live catalog, checked October 12, 2026.
| MobiMatter | Holafly |
|---|---|
| Japan | |
4 networksSold by MobiMatter from 7 providers
| Holafly: its partner network(s)KDDI, SoftBank[1]5G: Not stated on official pages |
| United States | |
4 networksSold by MobiMatter from 6 providers
| Holafly: its partner network(s)AT&T, T-Mobile[3]5G: Not stated on official pages |
| Turkey | |
3 networksSold by MobiMatter from 6 providers
| Holafly: its partner network(s)Türk Telekom, Turkcell[15]5G: Not stated on official pages |
| France | |
4 networksSold by MobiMatter from 7 providers
| Holafly: its partner network(s)Bouygues Telecom, Free Mobile, Orange, SFR[16]5G: Not stated on official pages |
Prices for the same trips
Plans rarely match one to one, so we price trips: for each brand, the cheapest plan with at least the data and at least the days of the trip (a bigger plan counts). Prices are in US dollars: the list price on each brand's own site, without sale prices, promo codes or first-order discounts. Unlimited plans are a separate trip; check each brand's fair-use terms above. MobiMatter prices and networks: live catalog, checked October 12, 2026.
Japan
Better price on 1 of 1 example trips
Holafly: list prices on its own site, captured October 11, 2026. Sources [1].
| MobiMatter | Holafly |
|---|---|
| 1 week light: 3 GB, 7 days: MobiMatter $5.49, Holafly $27.50 | |
| $27.50Japan (Unlimited, 7 days)unlimited plan · full-speed allowance not statedcaptured October 11, 2026 | |
| 1 week: 6 GB, 7 days: MobiMatter $7.99, Holafly $27.50 | |
| $27.50Japan (Unlimited, 7 days)unlimited plan · full-speed allowance not statedcaptured October 11, 2026 | |
| 2 weeks: 10 GB, 14 days: MobiMatter $7.99, Holafly $47.50 | |
| $47.50Japan (Unlimited, 14 days)unlimited plan · full-speed allowance not statedcaptured October 11, 2026 | |
| 30 days: 20 GB: MobiMatter $13.99, Holafly $73.90 | |
| $73.90Japan (Unlimited, 30 days)unlimited plan · full-speed allowance not statedcaptured October 11, 2026 | |
| 1 week unlimited: MobiMatter $19.99, Holafly $27.50, MobiMatter $7.51 less | |
| $27.50Japan (Unlimited, 7 days)captured October 11, 2026 | |
United States
Better price on 1 of 1 example trips
Holafly: list prices on its own site, captured October 11, 2026. Sources [3].
| MobiMatter | Holafly |
|---|---|
| 1 week light: 3 GB, 7 days: MobiMatter $3.99, Holafly $27.50 | |
| $27.50USA (Unlimited, 7 days)unlimited plan · full-speed allowance not statedcaptured October 11, 2026 | |
| 1 week: 6 GB, 7 days: MobiMatter $8.49, Holafly $27.50 | |
| $27.50USA (Unlimited, 7 days)unlimited plan · full-speed allowance not statedcaptured October 11, 2026 | |
| 2 weeks: 10 GB, 14 days: MobiMatter $9.99, Holafly $47.50 | |
| $47.50USA (Unlimited, 14 days)unlimited plan · full-speed allowance not statedcaptured October 11, 2026 | |
| 30 days: 20 GB: MobiMatter $16.99, Holafly $73.90 | |
| $73.90USA (Unlimited, 30 days)unlimited plan · full-speed allowance not statedcaptured October 11, 2026 | |
| 1 week unlimited: MobiMatter $14.21, Holafly $27.50, MobiMatter $13.29 less | |
| $27.50USA (Unlimited, 7 days)captured October 11, 2026 | |
Turkey
Better price on 1 of 1 example trips
Holafly: list prices on its own site, captured October 11, 2026. Sources [15].
| MobiMatter | Holafly |
|---|---|
| 1 week light: 3 GB, 7 days: MobiMatter $3.49, Holafly $27.50 | |
| $27.50Turkey (Unlimited, 7 days)unlimited plan · full-speed allowance not statedcaptured October 11, 2026 | |
| 1 week: 6 GB, 7 days: MobiMatter $7.99, Holafly $27.50 | |
| $27.50Turkey (Unlimited, 7 days)unlimited plan · full-speed allowance not statedcaptured October 11, 2026 | |
| 2 weeks: 10 GB, 14 days: MobiMatter $8.99, Holafly $47.50 | |
| $47.50Turkey (Unlimited, 14 days)unlimited plan · full-speed allowance not statedcaptured October 11, 2026 | |
| 30 days: 20 GB: MobiMatter $15.99, Holafly $73.90 | |
| $73.90Turkey (Unlimited, 30 days)unlimited plan · full-speed allowance not statedcaptured October 11, 2026 | |
| 1 week unlimited: MobiMatter $12.60, Holafly $27.50, MobiMatter $14.90 less | |
| $27.50Turkey (Unlimited, 7 days)captured October 11, 2026 | |
France
Better price on 1 of 1 example trips
Holafly: list prices on its own site, captured October 11, 2026. Sources [16].
| MobiMatter | Holafly |
|---|---|
| 1 week light: 3 GB, 7 days: MobiMatter $4.49, Holafly $27.50 | |
| $27.50France (Unlimited, 7 days)unlimited plan · full-speed allowance not statedcaptured October 11, 2026 | |
| 1 week: 6 GB, 7 days: MobiMatter $7.99, Holafly $27.50 | |
| $27.50France (Unlimited, 7 days)unlimited plan · full-speed allowance not statedcaptured October 11, 2026 | |
| 2 weeks: 10 GB, 14 days: MobiMatter $8.49, Holafly $47.50 | |
| $47.50France (Unlimited, 14 days)unlimited plan · full-speed allowance not statedcaptured October 11, 2026 | |
| 30 days: 20 GB: MobiMatter $13.99, Holafly $73.90 | |
| $73.90France (Unlimited, 30 days)unlimited plan · full-speed allowance not statedcaptured October 11, 2026 | |
| 1 week unlimited: MobiMatter $14.99, Holafly $27.50, MobiMatter $12.51 less | |
| $27.50France (Unlimited, 7 days)captured October 11, 2026 | |
Holafly: Standing discounts (not applied above)
- HolaCoins cashback: 5% (Silver), 6% (Gold), 7% (Platinum)[12]
Which is the better choice?
When MobiMatter is the better choice
- You want to choose your network: MobiMatter has 2+ network choices in the majority of its destinations.
- You are visiting several countries: MobiMatter plans sold for these four destinations cover up to 185 countries in one plan.
- You are staying for months: 15 MobiMatter plans for these four destinations last 90 days or more, up to 365 days.
- You want a fixed-data plan sized to your trip instead of paying for unlimited days.
- You want to share your data freely: hotspot is included on every MobiMatter plan, while Holafly limits sharing to 1 GB a day.
- You want every eSIM in one MobiMatter account and app, with 10% cashback in credits or a 3% discount on each purchase.
When Holafly is the better choice
- You just want unlimited data at one flat price per day, the same in Japan, the US, Turkey and France, without choosing a data amount.
- You want to try first: Holafly offers a free global eSIM with 200 MB for 1 day.
How we compare
Trips, not plans: 1 week light (3 GB), 1 week normal (6 GB), 2 weeks (10 GB), 30 days (20 GB) and 1 week of unlimited data, in Japan, the United States, Turkey and France. For each brand we take the cheapest plan that covers the trip; if none does, the table says so. Above each destination's trips we also show MobiMatter's top-ranked plan there (quality and value, as on our destination pages), once. When no plan with a set amount of data covers a trip, we use the brand's cheapest unlimited plan that lasts long enough, if its published full-speed allowance (per day times the trip's days, or its total cap) reaches the trip's data; it is tagged "unlimited plan" because it is not like-for-like. If the brand does not publish that allowance, the price is shown tagged "full-speed allowance not stated" and is not counted in the "better price" tally. The same rule applies to MobiMatter.
Holafly prices are the list prices on its own site on the date shown, in US dollars, without sale prices, promo codes, first-order discounts or memberships (standing discounts are listed separately), and are re-checked at least every three months. Regional plans count for a country only where the brand lists them for that country with the same data. MobiMatter prices and networks are read live from the plans on sale.
Facts about Holafly come from its own public pages (plan pages, help center, terms) and app store listings, each linked to its source with the date it was read; anything we could not confirm on an official page says so. We do not quote speed tests: speed depends on the network, the place and the time, so we name the networks instead.
Disclosure: MobiMatter publishes this page and sells travel eSIMs, so it has a commercial interest in the comparison. MobiMatter also sells plans from some other eSIM brands, including Airalo.
How we write, source and correct our content: editorial policy
Reviewed by Itamar Bareket (CTO, MobiMatter) · Last reviewed
Questions
Does Holafly have a daily data limit?
Holafly states no fixed daily cap on its unlimited plans, but operators may slow speeds under a fair use policy for up to one day. Hotspot sharing is limited to 1 GB a day.
Source[3]
Does Holafly sell plans with a fixed amount of data?
Not on its Japan, United States, Turkey or France pages: those sell unlimited plans priced by the number of days. That is why the fixed-data trips in the price table show its unlimited plan, tagged "full-speed allowance not stated" and left out of the better-price count.
Source[1]
Can I share my data as a hotspot?
On MobiMatter, hotspot is included on every plan. On Holafly, hotspot sharing is limited to 1 GB a day.
Source[1]
Sources
- [1]Holafly: Model; Hotspot / tethering; Network choice in four example destinations: Japan; Prices for the same trips: Japan; Questions: Does Holafly sell plans with a fixed amount of data?; Questions: Can I share my data as a hotspot?esim.holafly.com/esim-japan/ · captured October 11, 2026
- [2]Holafly: Multi-country plans; Longest validityesim.holafly.com/esim-global/ · captured October 9, 2026
- [3]Holafly: Unlimited data and fair use; Phone number, calls, SMS; Network choice in four example destinations: United States; Prices for the same trips: United States; Questions: Does Holafly have a daily data limit?esim.holafly.com/esim-usa/ · captured October 11, 2026
- [4]MobiMatter: Top-upsmobimatter.com/topup-esim · captured October 9, 2026
- [5]Holafly: Top-upsesim.holafly.com/esim-app/ · captured October 9, 2026
- [6]MobiMatter: Phone number, calls, SMSmobimatter.com/esim-united-kingdom · captured October 9, 2026
- [7]MobiMatter: When validity startsmobimatter.com/travel-esim/iij-japan-50-gb-esim · captured October 9, 2026
- [8]Holafly: When validity startsesim.holafly.com/faq/esim-setup-guide/when-should-i-set-up-my-esim/ · captured October 9, 2026
- [9]MobiMatter: ID checkmobimatter.com/travel-esim/mtel-montenegro-500-gb-esim · captured October 9, 2026
- [10]Holafly: ID checkesim.holafly.com/terms-and-conditions/ · captured October 9, 2026
- [11]MobiMatter: Rewardsmobimatter.com/rewards · captured October 9, 2026
- [12]Holafly: Rewards; Standing discounts (not applied above)esim.holafly.com/esim-rewards-loyalty-program/ · captured October 9, 2026
- [13]Holafly: Supportesim.holafly.com/contact-us/ · captured October 9, 2026
- [14]Holafly: Free trialfree.holafly.com/ · captured October 9, 2026
- [15]Holafly: Network choice in four example destinations: Turkey; Prices for the same trips: Turkeyesim.holafly.com/esim-turkey/ · captured October 11, 2026
- [16]Holafly: Network choice in four example destinations: France; Prices for the same trips: Franceesim.holafly.com/esim-france/ · captured October 11, 2026