MobiMatter vs Maya Mobileglobal unlimited or a choice of carriers

Reviewed by Itamar Bareket (CTO, MobiMatter) · Last reviewed

Short answer

Maya Mobile sells one product: a global unlimited eSIM at the same price in every country, with a daily high-speed quota it does not publish, and Maya picks the network for you. MobiMatter is a travel eSIM provider where you choose between plans on several vetted carriers in many countries, with fixed-data plans and, in many destinations, unlimited plans, and buy and manage every eSIM in one MobiMatter account and app. For a trip where you know roughly how much data you need, the tables below price the same trips for both.

Live right now, MobiMatter plans run on au (KDDI), NTT docomo, Rakuten, and SoftBank in Japan; AT&T, T-Mobile, U.S. Cellular, and Verizon in the US; Türk Telekom, Turkcell, and Vodafone in Turkey; Bouygues Telecom, Free, Orange, and SFR in France. Multi-country plans sold for these four destinations cover up to 185 countries in one plan, and validity goes up to 365 days.

When each is the better choice

MobiMatter

Maya Mobile

At a glance

  • Choice of network

    Yes: 2+ network choices in the majority of destinations167 of 199 destinations, catalog checked October 12, 2026
    Networks chosen by Maya Mobile
  • Multi-country plans

    Yes: Up to 185 countries in one plan
    One global unlimited plan for 165+ countries
  • Longest validity

    Yes: Up to 365 days
    Up to 30 days (unlimited plans of 3 to 30 days)
  • Price on the same trips

    Better price on 3 of 4 example trips
    Better price on 0 of 4
  • Hotspot

    Yes: Included on every plan
    Yes: Included
When each is the better choice

MobiMatter is rated 4.3/5 on Trustpilot from 57,137 reviews, 4.8/5 on the App Store and 4.9/5 on Google Play.

Key differences

Key differences
MobiMatterMaya Mobile
Model
Yes: Travel eSIM provider with a choice of vetted carriers in many countries; every eSIM is bought and managed in one MobiMatter account and appSingle brand, one product: a global unlimited eSIM at the same price in every country; Maya picks the network[1]
Multi-country plans
Yes: 175 multi-country plans for these four destinations, up to 185 countries in one planOne global unlimited plan for 165+ countries[1]
Longest validity
Yes: 15 plans valid 90 days or more for these four destinations, up to 365 daysUp to 30 days (unlimited plans of 3 to 30 days)[1]
Unlimited data and fair use
Yes: Offered in many destinations; the daily high-speed allowance and fair use depend on the plan and are stated on its pageYes: Every plan is unlimited with a daily high-speed quota, then standard speed; quota size not published[2]
Hotspot / tethering
Yes: Included on every planYes: Included[1]
Top-ups
Yes: Yes, on plans that support it (shown on each plan), in the app or on the website[3]Limited: Optional auto top-up re-buys the same plan when it ends[2]
App and account
Yes: iOS and Android app plus website: all eSIMs in one account, one-tap install, data left, top-ups, home-screen data widgetYes: Account required; iOS and Android apps; one eSIM kept for every trip
Phone number, calls, SMS
Limited: Mostly data-only; some plans include minutes or a number (for example UK plans with 300-500 minutes)[4]No: Data only; calls through internet apps[1]
When validity starts
Stated on each plan (activation policy), for example from first data use[5]Activates once connected to the network; plan runs for consecutive days[1]
ID check
No ID check for most plans; some carriers require one (Mtel and mts plans, and 3 plans for Hong Kong and Taiwan), stated on the plan[6]Not stated on official pages
Rewards
Yes: MobiMatter Rewards: 10% cashback in credits or a 3% instant discount on each purchase, plus referral credit[7]Yes: Maya Rewards Points: about 6.6% back, valid 180 days[2]
Support
24/7 support, plus a self-serve troubleshooting tool and a help center, for every eSIM whichever carrier it runs on24/7 support[8]
Free trial
No: No free trial planNot stated on official pages

Network choice in four example destinations

If one network is weak where you're going, pick another.

MobiMatter: the networks MobiMatter plans run on in each of these destinations today, with the number of plans and the lowest price on each. Maya Mobile: the network it names on its own country page. MobiMatter prices and networks: live catalog, checked October 12, 2026.

Network choice in four example destinations
MobiMatterMaya Mobile
Japan
4 networksSold by MobiMatter from 7 providersTSimTechAiraloSparks3IIJUbigiRoamVault
  • au (KDDI)5G45 plans · from $4.49
  • NTT docomo5G42 plans · from $3.99
  • Rakuten5G15 plans · from $5.99
  • SoftBank5G51 plans · from $3.99
Maya Mobile: its partner network(s)KDDI (5G), NTT docomo (LTE), Rakuten Mobile (5G)[1]5G: Yes[1]
United States
4 networksSold by MobiMatter from 6 providersSparksNextLinkeSIMGo3AiraloUbigi
  • AT&T5G59 plans · from $3.49
  • T-Mobile5G38 plans · from $3.49
  • U.S. Cellular5 plans · from $6.99
  • Verizon5G64 plans · from $3.49
Maya Mobile: its partner network(s)T-Mobile (5G), Verizon (5G)[1]5G: Yes[1]
Turkey
3 networksSold by MobiMatter from 6 providersSparksNextLink3UbigiAiraloeSIMGo
  • Türk Telekom5G83 plans · from $3.49
  • Turkcell5G71 plans · from $3.49
  • Vodafone5G50 plans · from $3.49
Maya Mobile: its partner network(s)Türk Telekom (5G), Turkcell (5G)[1]5G: Yes[1]
France
4 networksSold by MobiMatter from 7 providersSparksAiraloeSIMGoUbigiNextLink3Bouygues
  • Bouygues Telecom5G77 plans · from $3.49
  • Free5G82 plans · from $3.49
  • Orange5G82 plans · from $3.49
  • SFR5G13 plans · from $6.99
Maya Mobile: its partner network(s)Bouygues Telecom (5G), Free Mobile (5G), Orange (5G)[1]5G: Yes[1]

Prices for the same trips

Plans rarely match one to one, so we price trips: for each brand, the cheapest plan with at least the data and at least the days of the trip (a bigger plan counts). Prices are in US dollars: the list price on each brand's own site, without sale prices, promo codes or first-order discounts. Unlimited plans are a separate trip; check each brand's fair-use terms above. MobiMatter prices and networks: live catalog, checked October 12, 2026.

Japan

Better price on 0 of 1 example trips
IIJTop-ranked MobiMatter plan for JapanIIJ · 50 GB, 30 days$29.99NTT docomoView plan

Maya Mobile: list prices on its own site, captured October 11, 2026. Sources [1].

Prices for the same trips: Japan
MobiMatterMaya Mobile
1 week light: 3 GB, 7 days: MobiMatter $5.49, Maya Mobile $19.99
TSimTechTSimTech$5.49 · $1.83/GB3 GB, 15 days · SoftBank, au (KDDI)$19.997 Days Unlimited Global Dataunlimited plan · full-speed allowance not statedcaptured October 11, 2026
1 week: 6 GB, 7 days: MobiMatter $7.99, Maya Mobile $19.99
IIJIIJ$7.99 · $0.80/GB10 GB, 30 days · NTT docomo$19.997 Days Unlimited Global Dataunlimited plan · full-speed allowance not statedcaptured October 11, 2026
2 weeks: 10 GB, 14 days: MobiMatter $7.99, Maya Mobile $27.99
IIJIIJ$7.99 · $0.80/GB10 GB, 30 days · NTT docomo$27.9914 Days Unlimited Global Dataunlimited plan · full-speed allowance not statedcaptured October 11, 2026
30 days: 20 GB: MobiMatter $13.99, Maya Mobile $49.99
IIJIIJ$13.99 · $0.70/GB20 GB, 30 days · NTT docomo$49.9930 Days Unlimited Global Dataunlimited plan · full-speed allowance not statedcaptured October 11, 2026
1 week unlimited: MobiMatter $19.99, Maya Mobile $19.99
AiraloAiralo$19.99Unlimited, 7 days · SoftBank, au (KDDI)$19.997 Days Unlimited Global Datacaptured October 11, 2026

United States

Better price on 1 of 1 example trips
eSIMGoTop-ranked MobiMatter plan for United StateseSIMGo · 50 GB, 30 days$39.99Verizon, AT&TView plan

Maya Mobile: list prices on its own site, captured October 11, 2026. Sources [9].

Prices for the same trips: United States
MobiMatterMaya Mobile
1 week light: 3 GB, 7 days: MobiMatter $3.99, Maya Mobile $19.99
NextLinkNextLink$3.99 · $1.33/GB3 GB, 15 days · T-Mobile$19.997 Days Unlimited Global Dataunlimited plan · full-speed allowance not statedcaptured October 11, 2026
1 week: 6 GB, 7 days: MobiMatter $8.49, Maya Mobile $19.99
SparksSparks$8.49 · $1.21/GB7 GB, 30 days · Verizon, AT&T$19.997 Days Unlimited Global Dataunlimited plan · full-speed allowance not statedcaptured October 11, 2026
2 weeks: 10 GB, 14 days: MobiMatter $9.99, Maya Mobile $27.99
NextLinkNextLink$9.99 · $1.00/GB10 GB, 30 days · T-Mobile$27.9914 Days Unlimited Global Dataunlimited plan · full-speed allowance not statedcaptured October 11, 2026
30 days: 20 GB: MobiMatter $16.99, Maya Mobile $49.99
33$16.99 · $0.85/GB20 GB, 30 days · Verizon, AT&T$49.9930 Days Unlimited Global Dataunlimited plan · full-speed allowance not statedcaptured October 11, 2026
1 week unlimited: MobiMatter $14.21, Maya Mobile $19.99, MobiMatter $5.78 less
NextLinkNextLink$14.21Unlimited, 7 days · T-Mobile$19.997 Days Unlimited Global Datacaptured October 11, 2026

Turkey

Better price on 1 of 1 example trips
NextLinkTop-ranked MobiMatter plan for TurkeyNextLink · 50 GB, 30 days$28.99Türk Telekom, TurkcellView plan

Maya Mobile: list prices on its own site, captured October 11, 2026. Sources [10].

Prices for the same trips: Turkey
MobiMatterMaya Mobile
1 week light: 3 GB, 7 days: MobiMatter $3.49, Maya Mobile $19.99
NextLinkNextLink$3.49 · $1.16/GB3 GB, 15 days · Türk Telekom, Turkcell$19.997 Days Unlimited Global Dataunlimited plan · full-speed allowance not statedcaptured October 11, 2026
1 week: 6 GB, 7 days: MobiMatter $7.99, Maya Mobile $19.99
NextLinkNextLink$7.99 · $1.14/GB7 GB, 30 days · Türk Telekom, Turkcell$19.997 Days Unlimited Global Dataunlimited plan · full-speed allowance not statedcaptured October 11, 2026
2 weeks: 10 GB, 14 days: MobiMatter $8.99, Maya Mobile $27.99
NextLinkNextLink$8.99 · $0.75/GB12 GB, 30 days · Türk Telekom, Turkcell$27.9914 Days Unlimited Global Dataunlimited plan · full-speed allowance not statedcaptured October 11, 2026
30 days: 20 GB: MobiMatter $15.99, Maya Mobile $49.99
NextLinkNextLink$15.99 · $0.64/GB25 GB, 30 days · Türk Telekom, Turkcell$49.9930 Days Unlimited Global Dataunlimited plan · full-speed allowance not statedcaptured October 11, 2026
1 week unlimited: MobiMatter $12.60, Maya Mobile $19.99, MobiMatter $7.39 less
NextLinkNextLink$12.60Unlimited, 7 days · Türk Telekom, Turkcell$19.997 Days Unlimited Global Datacaptured October 11, 2026

France

Better price on 1 of 1 example trips
BouyguesTop-ranked MobiMatter plan for FranceBouygues · 120 GB, 30 days$49.99Bouygues TelecomView plan

Maya Mobile: list prices on its own site, captured October 11, 2026. Sources [2].

Prices for the same trips: France
MobiMatterMaya Mobile
1 week light: 3 GB, 7 days: MobiMatter $4.49, Maya Mobile $19.99
SparksSparks$4.49 · $1.50/GB3 GB, 30 days · Free, Orange, Bouygues Telecom$19.997 Days Unlimited Global Dataunlimited plan · full-speed allowance not statedcaptured October 11, 2026
1 week: 6 GB, 7 days: MobiMatter $7.99, Maya Mobile $19.99
NextLinkNextLink$7.99 · $1.14/GB7 GB, 30 days · Free, Orange, Bouygues Telecom$19.997 Days Unlimited Global Dataunlimited plan · full-speed allowance not statedcaptured October 11, 2026
2 weeks: 10 GB, 14 days: MobiMatter $8.49, Maya Mobile $27.99
eSIMGoeSIMGo$8.49 · $0.85/GB10 GB, 30 days · Free, Orange, Bouygues Telecom$27.9914 Days Unlimited Global Dataunlimited plan · full-speed allowance not statedcaptured October 11, 2026
30 days: 20 GB: MobiMatter $13.99, Maya Mobile $49.99
eSIMGoeSIMGo$13.99 · $0.70/GB20 GB, 30 days · Free, Orange, Bouygues Telecom$49.9930 Days Unlimited Global Dataunlimited plan · full-speed allowance not statedcaptured October 11, 2026
1 week unlimited: MobiMatter $14.99, Maya Mobile $19.99, MobiMatter $5.00 less
AiraloAiralo$14.99Unlimited, 7 days · Bouygues Telecom$19.997 Days Unlimited Global Datacaptured October 11, 2026

Maya Mobile: Standing discounts (not applied above)

  • Maya Rewards Points: about 6.6% back on each purchase, valid 180 days[2]

Which is the better choice?

When MobiMatter is the better choice

  • You want to choose your network: MobiMatter has 2+ network choices in the majority of its destinations.
  • You are visiting several countries: MobiMatter plans sold for these four destinations cover up to 185 countries in one plan.
  • You are staying for months: 15 MobiMatter plans for these four destinations last 90 days or more, up to 365 days.
  • You want a fixed-data plan sized to your trip instead of one global unlimited plan.
  • You want to know and choose the network before you buy: every MobiMatter plan names it, while Maya picks it for you.
  • You want every eSIM in one MobiMatter account and app, with 10% cashback in credits or a 3% discount on each purchase.

When Maya Mobile is the better choice

  • You visit several countries in one trip and want one unlimited plan that works in all of them at one price.
  • You want to install one eSIM once and keep it for every trip.
  • You are on a cruise: Maya sells a Global + Cruise add-on for maritime coverage.

How we compare

Trips, not plans: 1 week light (3 GB), 1 week normal (6 GB), 2 weeks (10 GB), 30 days (20 GB) and 1 week of unlimited data, in Japan, the United States, Turkey and France. For each brand we take the cheapest plan that covers the trip; if none does, the table says so. Above each destination's trips we also show MobiMatter's top-ranked plan there (quality and value, as on our destination pages), once. When no plan with a set amount of data covers a trip, we use the brand's cheapest unlimited plan that lasts long enough, if its published full-speed allowance (per day times the trip's days, or its total cap) reaches the trip's data; it is tagged "unlimited plan" because it is not like-for-like. If the brand does not publish that allowance, the price is shown tagged "full-speed allowance not stated" and is not counted in the "better price" tally. The same rule applies to MobiMatter.

Maya Mobile prices are the list prices on its own site on the date shown, in US dollars, without sale prices, promo codes, first-order discounts or memberships (standing discounts are listed separately), and are re-checked at least every three months. Regional plans count for a country only where the brand lists them for that country with the same data. MobiMatter prices and networks are read live from the plans on sale.

Facts about Maya Mobile come from its own public pages (plan pages, help center, terms) and app store listings, each linked to its source with the date it was read; anything we could not confirm on an official page says so. We do not quote speed tests: speed depends on the network, the place and the time, so we name the networks instead.

Disclosure: MobiMatter publishes this page and sells travel eSIMs, so it has a commercial interest in the comparison. MobiMatter also sells plans from some other eSIM brands, including Airalo.

How we write, source and correct our content: editorial policy

Reviewed by Itamar Bareket (CTO, MobiMatter) · Last reviewed

Questions

Does Maya Mobile sell country plans with a set amount of data?

No. Maya Mobile sells global unlimited plans (3, 7, 14 and 30 days) at the same price everywhere, so the fixed-data trips in the price table show its unlimited plan, tagged "full-speed allowance not stated" and left out of the better-price count.

Source[1]

Is Maya Mobile unlimited data really unlimited?

Maya's terms describe a daily high-speed quota, after which data continues at standard speed until the daily reset. The size of the quota is not published.

Source[2]

Sources

  1. [1]Maya Mobile: Model; Multi-country plans; Longest validity; Hotspot / tethering; Phone number, calls, SMS; When validity starts; Network choice in four example destinations: Japan; Network choice in four example destinations: United States; Network choice in four example destinations: Turkey; Network choice in four example destinations: France; Prices for the same trips: Japan; Questions: Does Maya Mobile sell country plans with a set amount of data?maya.net/esim/japan · captured October 11, 2026
  2. [2]Maya Mobile: Unlimited data and fair use; Top-ups; Rewards; Prices for the same trips: France; Standing discounts (not applied above); Questions: Is Maya Mobile unlimited data really unlimited?maya.net/legal · captured October 11, 2026
  3. [3]MobiMatter: Top-upsmobimatter.com/topup-esim · captured October 9, 2026
  4. [4]MobiMatter: Phone number, calls, SMSmobimatter.com/esim-united-kingdom · captured October 9, 2026
  5. [5]MobiMatter: When validity startsmobimatter.com/travel-esim/iij-japan-50-gb-esim · captured October 9, 2026
  6. [6]MobiMatter: ID checkmobimatter.com/travel-esim/mtel-montenegro-500-gb-esim · captured October 9, 2026
  7. [7]MobiMatter: Rewardsmobimatter.com/rewards · captured October 9, 2026
  8. [8]Maya Mobile: Supportmaya.net/contact-us · captured October 9, 2026
  9. [9]Maya Mobile: Prices for the same trips: United Statesmaya.net/plans/usa · captured October 11, 2026
  10. [10]Maya Mobile: Prices for the same trips: Turkeymaya.net/esim/turkey · captured October 11, 2026

Other comparisons

eSIM plans for these destinations