MobiMatter vs Sailynetworks, prices and policies
Reviewed by Itamar Bareket (CTO, MobiMatter) · Last reviewed
Short answer
Saily sells its own plans in each country and names its network only on some country pages. MobiMatter is a travel eSIM provider where you choose between plans on several vetted carriers in many countries, see the network on every plan before you buy, and buy and manage every eSIM in one MobiMatter account and app with MobiMatter support. Saily adds security features (ad blocker, virtual location) and one eSIM you reuse on every trip. The tables below show networks and prices for the same trips in four example destinations.
Live right now, MobiMatter plans run on au (KDDI), NTT docomo, Rakuten, and SoftBank in Japan; AT&T, T-Mobile, U.S. Cellular, and Verizon in the US; Türk Telekom, Turkcell, and Vodafone in Turkey; Bouygues Telecom, Free, Orange, and SFR in France. Multi-country plans sold for these four destinations cover up to 185 countries in one plan, and validity goes up to 365 days.
MobiMatter
Saily
At a glance
Choice of network
Yes: 2+ network choices in the majority of destinations167 of 199 destinations, catalog checked October 12, 2026Networks chosen by SailyMulti-country plans
Yes: Up to 185 countries in one plan10 regional plans; Global covers 121 countries; fixed dataLongest validity
Up to 365 daysUp to 365 days (Global 20 GB and 50 GB)Price on the same trips
Better price on 20 of 20 example tripsBetter price on 0 of 20Hotspot
Yes: Included on every planYes: Allowed, no limit stated
MobiMatter is rated 4.3/5 on Trustpilot from 57,137 reviews, 4.8/5 on the App Store and 4.9/5 on Google Play.
Key differences
| MobiMatter | Saily |
|---|---|
| Model | |
| Yes: Travel eSIM provider with a choice of vetted carriers in many countries; every eSIM is bought and managed in one MobiMatter account and app | Single brand: Saily plans only, one plan list per country; no choice of carrier[1] |
| Multi-country plans | |
| Yes: 175 multi-country plans for these four destinations, up to 185 countries in one plan | 10 regional plans; Global covers 121 countries; fixed data[2] |
| Longest validity | |
| 15 plans valid 90 days or more for these four destinations, up to 365 days | Up to 365 days (Global 20 GB and 50 GB)[3] |
| Unlimited data and fair use | |
| Yes: Offered in many destinations; the daily high-speed allowance and fair use depend on the plan and are stated on its page | Yes: Unlimited plans (5 to 30 days): 5 GB a day at full speed, then up to 1 Mbps until the daily reset[4] |
| Hotspot / tethering | |
| Yes: Included on every plan | Yes: Allowed, no limit stated[5] |
| Top-ups | |
| Yes: Yes, on plans that support it (shown on each plan), in the app or on the website[6] | Yes: Yes, add data in the app; optional auto top-up[1] |
| App and account | |
| Yes: iOS and Android app plus website: all eSIMs in one account, one-tap install, data left, top-ups, home-screen data widget | Yes: iOS and Android apps: one eSIM reused across trips, live usage, top-ups; built-in ad blocker and virtual location |
| Phone number, calls, SMS | |
| Limited: Mostly data-only; some plans include minutes or a number (for example UK plans with 300-500 minutes)[7] | Limited: Data only; an optional US number with call and text plans (ID check required)[8] |
| When validity starts | |
| Stated on each plan (activation policy), for example from first data use[9] | On arrival in the destination; within 180 days of purchase[1] |
| ID check | |
| No ID check for most plans; some carriers require one (Mtel and mts plans, and 3 plans for Hong Kong and Taiwan), stated on the plan[10] | None for data plans; ID check only for the phone number add-on[4] |
| Rewards | |
| Yes: MobiMatter Rewards: 10% cashback in credits or a 3% instant discount on each purchase, plus referral credit[11] | Yes: Saily Credits: 3% back on every plan (8% with Ultra)[12] |
| Support | |
| 24/7 support, plus a self-serve troubleshooting tool and a help center, for every eSIM whichever carrier it runs on | 24/7 support[1] |
| Free trial | |
| No: No free trial plan | Not stated on official pages |
Network choice in four example destinations
If one network is weak where you're going, pick another.
MobiMatter: the networks MobiMatter plans run on in each of these destinations today, with the number of plans and the lowest price on each. Saily: the network it names on its own country page. MobiMatter prices and networks: live catalog, checked October 12, 2026.
| MobiMatter | Saily |
|---|---|
| Japan | |
4 networksSold by MobiMatter from 7 providers
| Saily: its partner network(s)KDDI and SoftBank, among others[1] |
| United States | |
4 networksSold by MobiMatter from 6 providers
| Saily: its partner network(s)Not stated on official pages |
| Turkey | |
3 networksSold by MobiMatter from 6 providers
| Saily: its partner network(s)Not stated on official pages |
| France | |
4 networksSold by MobiMatter from 7 providers
| Saily: its partner network(s)Not stated on official pages |
Prices for the same trips
Plans rarely match one to one, so we price trips: for each brand, the cheapest plan with at least the data and at least the days of the trip (a bigger plan counts). Prices are in US dollars: the list price on each brand's own site, without sale prices, promo codes or first-order discounts. Unlimited plans are a separate trip; check each brand's fair-use terms above. MobiMatter prices and networks: live catalog, checked October 12, 2026.
Japan
Better price on 5 of 5 example trips
Saily: list prices on its own site, captured October 9, 2026. Sources [1].
| MobiMatter | Saily |
|---|---|
| 1 week light: 3 GB, 7 days: MobiMatter $5.49, Saily $7.99, MobiMatter $2.50 less | |
| $7.99 · $2.66/GB3 GB / 30 dayscaptured October 9, 2026 | |
| 1 week: 6 GB, 7 days: MobiMatter $7.99, Saily $17.99, MobiMatter $10.00 less | |
| $17.99 · $1.80/GB10 GB / 30 dayscaptured October 9, 2026 | |
| 2 weeks: 10 GB, 14 days: MobiMatter $7.99, Saily $17.99, MobiMatter $10.00 less | |
| $17.99 · $1.80/GB10 GB / 30 dayscaptured October 9, 2026 | |
| 30 days: 20 GB: MobiMatter $13.99, Saily $24.99, MobiMatter $11.00 less | |
| $24.99 · $1.25/GB20 GB / 30 dayscaptured October 9, 2026 | |
| 1 week unlimited: MobiMatter $19.99, Saily $26.99, MobiMatter $7.00 less | |
| $26.99Unlimited / 7 dayscaptured October 9, 2026 | |
United States
Better price on 5 of 5 example trips
Saily: list prices on its own site, captured October 9, 2026. Sources [5].
| MobiMatter | Saily |
|---|---|
| 1 week light: 3 GB, 7 days: MobiMatter $3.99, Saily $8.99, MobiMatter $5.00 less | |
| $8.99 · $3.00/GB3 GB / 30 dayscaptured October 9, 2026 | |
| 1 week: 6 GB, 7 days: MobiMatter $8.49, Saily $22.99, MobiMatter $14.50 less | |
| $22.99 · $2.30/GB10 GB / 30 dayscaptured October 9, 2026 | |
| 2 weeks: 10 GB, 14 days: MobiMatter $9.99, Saily $22.99, MobiMatter $13.00 less | |
| $22.99 · $2.30/GB10 GB / 30 dayscaptured October 9, 2026 | |
| 30 days: 20 GB: MobiMatter $16.99, Saily $36.99, MobiMatter $20.00 less | |
| $36.99 · $1.85/GB20 GB / 30 dayscaptured October 9, 2026 | |
| 1 week unlimited: MobiMatter $14.21, Saily $24.99, MobiMatter $10.78 less | |
| $24.99Unlimited / 7 dayscaptured October 9, 2026 | |
Turkey
Better price on 5 of 5 example trips
Saily: list prices on its own site, captured October 9, 2026. Sources [13].
| MobiMatter | Saily |
|---|---|
| 1 week light: 3 GB, 7 days: MobiMatter $3.49, Saily $6.99, MobiMatter $3.50 less | |
| $6.99 · $2.33/GB3 GB / 30 dayscaptured October 9, 2026 | |
| 1 week: 6 GB, 7 days: MobiMatter $7.99, Saily $15.99, MobiMatter $8.00 less | |
| $15.99 · $1.60/GB10 GB / 30 dayscaptured October 9, 2026 | |
| 2 weeks: 10 GB, 14 days: MobiMatter $8.99, Saily $15.99, MobiMatter $7.00 less | |
| $15.99 · $1.60/GB10 GB / 30 dayscaptured October 9, 2026 | |
| 30 days: 20 GB: MobiMatter $15.99, Saily $22.99, MobiMatter $7.00 less | |
| $22.99 · $1.15/GB20 GB / 30 dayscaptured October 9, 2026 | |
| 1 week unlimited: MobiMatter $12.60, Saily $26.99, MobiMatter $14.39 less | |
| $26.99Unlimited / 7 dayscaptured October 9, 2026 | |
France
Better price on 5 of 5 example trips
Saily: list prices on its own site, captured October 9, 2026. Sources [14].
| MobiMatter | Saily |
|---|---|
| 1 week light: 3 GB, 7 days: MobiMatter $4.49, Saily $8.99, MobiMatter $4.50 less | |
| $8.99 · $3.00/GB3 GB / 30 dayscaptured October 9, 2026 | |
| 1 week: 6 GB, 7 days: MobiMatter $7.99, Saily $16.99, MobiMatter $9.00 less | |
| $16.99 · $1.70/GB10 GB / 30 dayscaptured October 9, 2026 | |
| 2 weeks: 10 GB, 14 days: MobiMatter $8.49, Saily $16.99, MobiMatter $8.50 less | |
| $16.99 · $1.70/GB10 GB / 30 dayscaptured October 9, 2026 | |
| 30 days: 20 GB: MobiMatter $13.99, Saily $22.99, MobiMatter $9.00 less | |
| $22.99 · $1.15/GB20 GB / 30 dayscaptured October 9, 2026 | |
| 1 week unlimited: MobiMatter $14.99, Saily $23.99, MobiMatter $9.00 less | |
| $23.99Unlimited / 7 dayscaptured October 9, 2026 | |
Saily: Standing discounts (not applied above)
- Saily Credits: 3% back on every plan (8% with Ultra), valid 1 year[12]
Which is the better choice?
When MobiMatter is the better choice
- You want to choose your network: MobiMatter has 2+ network choices in the majority of its destinations.
- You are visiting several countries: MobiMatter plans sold for these four destinations cover up to 185 countries in one plan.
- You want to see the network before you buy: every MobiMatter plan names it, and destination pages filter plans by network.
- You want plans from several vetted providers in many countries, ranked on quality and value.
- You want every eSIM in one MobiMatter account and app, with 10% cashback in credits or a 3% discount on each purchase.
When Saily is the better choice
- You want an ad blocker and virtual location built into your eSIM app.
- You want one eSIM that you install once and reuse on every trip.
How we compare
Trips, not plans: 1 week light (3 GB), 1 week normal (6 GB), 2 weeks (10 GB), 30 days (20 GB) and 1 week of unlimited data, in Japan, the United States, Turkey and France. For each brand we take the cheapest plan that covers the trip; if none does, the table says so. Above each destination's trips we also show MobiMatter's top-ranked plan there (quality and value, as on our destination pages), once. When no plan with a set amount of data covers a trip, we use the brand's cheapest unlimited plan that lasts long enough, if its published full-speed allowance (per day times the trip's days, or its total cap) reaches the trip's data; it is tagged "unlimited plan" because it is not like-for-like. If the brand does not publish that allowance, the price is shown tagged "full-speed allowance not stated" and is not counted in the "better price" tally. The same rule applies to MobiMatter.
Saily prices are the list prices on its own site on the date shown, in US dollars, without sale prices, promo codes, first-order discounts or memberships (standing discounts are listed separately), and are re-checked at least every three months. Regional plans count for a country only where the brand lists them for that country with the same data. MobiMatter prices and networks are read live from the plans on sale.
Facts about Saily come from its own public pages (plan pages, help center, terms) and app store listings, each linked to its source with the date it was read; anything we could not confirm on an official page says so. We do not quote speed tests: speed depends on the network, the place and the time, so we name the networks instead.
Disclosure: MobiMatter publishes this page and sells travel eSIMs, so it has a commercial interest in the comparison. MobiMatter also sells plans from some other eSIM brands, including Airalo.
How we write, source and correct our content: editorial policy
Reviewed by Itamar Bareket (CTO, MobiMatter) · Last reviewed
Questions
Does MobiMatter tell you which network you will use?
Yes. Every MobiMatter plan names the networks it runs on before you buy, and destination pages let you filter plans by network. Saily names its network on some country pages (Japan: KDDI and SoftBank) but not on its United States, Turkey or France pages.
Source[15]
Who handles support for a MobiMatter eSIM?
MobiMatter does, for every eSIM it sells, whichever carrier it runs on: 24/7 support, plus a self-serve troubleshooting tool and a help center.
Source[16]
Do Saily unlimited plans slow down?
Yes. Saily's unlimited plans give 5 GB a day at full speed on these four countries' pages, then up to 1 Mbps until the daily reset.
Source[4]
Which providers does MobiMatter sell plans from?
MobiMatter sells plans from 19 providers, among them Airalo, eSIM Go, Ubigi, 3, Bouygues, and Sparks. Every plan names its provider and the networks it runs on before you buy, and MobiMatter supports every eSIM it sells.
Sources
- [1]Saily: Model; Top-ups; When validity starts; Support; Network choice in four example destinations: Japan; Prices for the same trips: Japansaily.com/esim-japan/ · captured October 9, 2026
- [2]Saily: Multi-country planssaily.com/all-destinations/ · captured October 9, 2026
- [3]Saily: Longest validitysaily.com/esim-global/ · captured October 9, 2026
- [4]Saily: Unlimited data and fair use; ID check; Questions: Do Saily unlimited plans slow down?saily.com/legal/terms-of-service/ · captured October 9, 2026
- [5]Saily: Hotspot / tethering; Prices for the same trips: United Statessaily.com/esim-united-states/ · captured October 9, 2026
- [6]MobiMatter: Top-upsmobimatter.com/topup-esim · captured October 9, 2026
- [7]MobiMatter: Phone number, calls, SMSmobimatter.com/esim-united-kingdom · captured October 9, 2026
- [8]Saily: Phone number, calls, SMSsaily.com/esim-phone-number/ · captured October 9, 2026
- [9]MobiMatter: When validity startsmobimatter.com/travel-esim/iij-japan-50-gb-esim · captured October 9, 2026
- [10]MobiMatter: ID checkmobimatter.com/travel-esim/mtel-montenegro-500-gb-esim · captured October 9, 2026
- [11]MobiMatter: Rewardsmobimatter.com/rewards · captured October 9, 2026
- [12]Saily: Rewards; Standing discounts (not applied above)saily.com/legal/reward-terms-and-conditions/ · captured October 9, 2026
- [13]Saily: Prices for the same trips: Turkeysaily.com/esim-turkey/ · captured October 9, 2026
- [14]Saily: Prices for the same trips: Francesaily.com/esim-france/ · captured October 9, 2026
- [15]MobiMatter: Questions: Does MobiMatter tell you which network you will use?mobimatter.com/esim-japan · captured October 9, 2026
- [16]MobiMatter: Questions: Who handles support for a MobiMatter eSIM?mobimatter.com/troubleshoot · captured October 9, 2026